The tabby walls in Darien, GA are the remnants of the town’s cotton exchange warehouses and naval stores built 1815-1830. The Adam-Strain Building, built circa 1813, was a mercantile store and ship chandlery.
These tabby ruins attest to Darien's importance as a port for the export of cotton and timber in the early 1800s. The Union Army burned these structures in 1863. The Adam-Strain building was restored in 1873. The Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation designated it as one of the 2008 Places in Peril after its owner attempted to demolish it; its future remains uncertain.
GPS: N31°22.113 W81°26.167
Address: The Adam-Strain Building sits at 109 Broad St., Darien, GA 31305. The tabby walls are directly behind the building, facing the waterfront.
Accessibility: The Adam-Strain Building is privately owned and not open to the public. A free public parking lot is close to the building and tabby walls at Skipper's Fish Camp at 85 Screven Street, Darien GA 31305.
For more information, see the article on the Adam-Strain Building at Explore Georgia.